Rural Opportunity Zone

An employee recruitment tool, the Kansas Rural Opportunity Zone provides qualified employees with two distinct incentives. New residents can take advantage of one, or both, incentives.

100% State Income Tax Credit
New residents may be eligible for up to five years of state tax credits for their personal income taxes. Participants must not have lived in Kansas for the past five years, nor have had a Kansas source of income exceeding $10,000 per year during the previous five years.

Administered by the Kansas Department of Revenue, participants in the program must file the tax credit request along with their state taxes. The state taxes must also be filed on line using the state's portal.

Specific information regarding eligibility can be found on the state's website.

Student Loan Repayment Assistance
Residents new to Miami County after June 16, 2021 may be eligible for the assistance provided they have an active student loan along with a completed associate's bachelors or post-graduate degree. 

Administered by the Kansas Department of Commerce, employers and foundations serve as sponsors offering up to $15,000 in student loan repayment assistance with an annual cap of $3,000. The repayment assistance is underwritten evenly by the sponsor and the state.

Information on how to participate is available on the state's website.

Employers may share the following flyer with potential new employees: Rural Opportunity Zone Flyer, Promotional Flyer