Rural Fire Protection

Both boards share the same mission: To provide quality emergency services, the equipment, and manpower necessary to maintain the safety and quality of life for the residents of Miami County.

Rural Miami County fire protection is under the guidance of two fire district boards.

Fire District One
Fire District Number One consists of an area of fire suppression that encompasses the rural areas around the stations at Wellsville, Paola, Louisburg, Osawatomie, and Fontana. The district currently has a contract with Drexel, Missouri for service to the far southeast portion of the county.

Personnel & Equipment
District One has 116 volunteer firefighters who staff and maintain 27 emergency vehicles, including seven pumper trucks, five water tankers, two pumper tankers, six mini pumpers, and seven brush/grass trucks. They respond to emergencies and provide assistance to citizens from the five stations.

For additional information on District One, contact Betty Town, Board Secretary at 913-533-2345.  Board Information

Fire District Two
Fire District Number Two provides fire protection, fire prevention, and vehicular accident rescue services to residents in northern Miami County. District Two encompasses an approximate 70-square-mile area and contracts with Johnson County Fire No. 2 for services.

For additional information on District Two, contact Louis Franke, Board Chairman at 913-783-4767.